Peugeot 208 Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Peugeot (and Renault) made a fairly big hoo-hah in regards to the Arkamys speaker set-up when they launched the 208 in France however I can't remember them mentioning it here in the UK at all but does anyone know if this 'special' technology is implemented across the whole range? I've an Active and the speaker system is truly crap as other users on this forum have said so. It's just that I though it might have been reserved for those with Allure and Feline specs. I've had 5 207s which have all truly impressed me, hence why I bought 5 of them (not at the same time of course)!I think the fact that the speakers are so weak does have something to do with the touch screen. I'm no hardware expert buy I'm pretty sure the system would need a half-decent audio chip in order to provide us with powerful music but seeing as the electrics in the system are so cheap we end up with inconsistent sound. It's, and I'm guessing here, terribly difficult to replace because the whole screen needs to be removed. That's the biggest hindrance because Fifth Gear did a bit on their program where Plato improved the set-up on a 2002 Focus and the first thing he said to remove is the head of the system rather than the speakers.
Edit: Would it be possible to change the speakers' in favour of the ones on the 207 / 308?
Also the very little bass there is on the Bluetooth, USB and AUX inputs doesn't seem to be on the radio. It used to be the same across all mediums on the 207 so for it to be like this on the newer system, you'd think they'd have improved (and yes I do have the audio settings set to my liking for all mediums).